Loving Muslims

Mark200x200(1)-2This past year I have had several interactions with Muslims. My experience, with one exception, has been very positive (the exception was a case of mental health, I believe). Since I often get asked questions about Islam, on which I am no expert, here are some observations that I am prepared to make.

Westernized Sunnis are concerned Islam has been co-opted by fundamental radicalized Muslims.

Mosque in BeruitThe Muslims I have met are well-educated Westernized Sunnis and are concerned that Islam has been co-opted by fundamental radicalized Muslims. They speak against this both to me and publicly. They don’t want Islam to be characterized as a religion of violence but of peace. They are concerned about the public image of their chosen religion.

History is not the final arbiter, God is.

The Muslims I have met are not living in fear of being persecuted. They may be the exception, but they tell me the media has overplayed this. I asked a local imam if he or anyone in his mosque has experienced religious bigotry or discrimination and he said it was clear to him they had not. This came as a surprise to me.

No one but God can ultimately impose their will on history.

Hebron-3They clearly have a deeply held belief that Allah (not Jesus but for whom they have great respect) is in control of history and that one day, the world will be controlled by Muslims, ushering in a new age. I guess that they pray for that day, as Christians pray for “thy kingdom come, thy will be done.” However, some Muslims try to hasten that day through violence. By the way, should that day come, I would hazard to guess that some Muslims will still be fighting against other Muslims (cynical? it’s a comment on humanity, not just Islam).

The ebb and flow of history are part of God’s sovereign mosaic of bigger purposes.

Communism, Marx predicted, would naturally happen over time, it would evolve on its own. It would not need to be politically or militarily imposed. Lenin and Stalin tried to hasten it through the use of violence and coercion. It didn’t naturally evolve, and eventually, it fell apart. History is not the final arbiter, God is. But the ebb and flow of history are part of God’s sovereign mosaic of bigger purposes. I would like to think that Lenin, Stalin, and other dictators have found out you can impose your will on history, but not on God. No one but God can ultimately impose their will on history. Neither can Islam or Christianity.

It is my love of Christ that compels me to love Muslims.

thWill Islam continue to grow? There is so much I don’t understand, and I know I am over my head, but I am willing to bet on Jesus Christ – with my life. I’ll bet on Christ, not just on Christianity, which, like Islam, is a mixed bag of good and not so good. Christ commands us to love and pray for our enemies. He absorbed the violence done to him out of love. It is my love of Christ that compels me to love Muslims.

–Pastor Mark, The Imperfect Pastor

Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men. (Matthew 4:19 NKJV)